Two Birds and a weekend

20190224-IMG_628220190224-IMG_6295

It feels very good when one get to see things that is not encountered daily. Last Sunday when I visited Nibadhui village in Duttapukur, near Kolkata I felt good to be in touch with the grass and soil under my feet. While my son started collecting the shells of snails I went about looking for birds. Of course I was lucky to have my wife and mother-in-law prepare a sumptuous lunch. Here are two birds I liked best, a spotted dove (called Ghughu in Bengali) and a blue throated barbet (called Nil gola Basanta Bauri in Bengali). While the former is quite common the second has reduced in number in Kolkata city. The birds reduced my stress levels and relaxed me a lot. There are many other birds as well which I could not capture on my camera during my short stay. I hope I will get them at close range during my next visit.